Indian Rupees

Indian Bank Holidays in August 2022


The Reserve Bank of India determines bank holidays each month, releasing a month-by-month schedule of such days off for private and public lenders at the start of the year. According to the list, all commercial and public sector banks will have 18 bank holidays in August 2022.

August 1MondayDrukpa Tshe-ziSikkim
August 7SundayNationwide
August 8MondayMuharram (Ashoora)Jammu and Kashmir
August 9TuesdayMuharram (Ashoora)Tripura, Gujarat, Mizoram, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, New Delhi, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chattisgarh
August 11ThursdayRaksha BandhanGujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh
August 12FridayRaksha BandhanUttar Pradesh
August 13SaturdayPatriot’s Day
Second Saturday
August 14SundayNationwide
August 15MondayIndependence DayNational Holiday
August 16TuesdayParsi New YearMaharashtra
August 18ThursdayJanmashtamiOdisha, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
August 19FridayJanmashtamiGujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Sikkim, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir, Bihar, Chattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, Meghalaya
August 20SaturdaySri Krishna AshtamiTelangana
August 21SundayNationwide
August 27SaturdayFourth SaturdayNationwide
August 28SundayNationwide
August 29MondayTithi of Srimanta SankardevaAssam
August 31WednesdaySamvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Ganesh Chaturthi/Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata/Vinayakar ChathurthiOdisha, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Telangana, Goa, Tamil Nadu and Gujarat

The Reserve Bank of India grants holidays to the bank under three categories that include Banks’ Closing of Accounts, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday.

Disclaimer: All precautions have been taken to gather the most accurate information about the Bank Holiday dates for the month of august 2022. However, readers are advised to verify with their local branches to corroborate the same.