The Rupee is the currency of India

Indian Bank Holidays in May 2021


Generally, both private and public sector banks remain closed on all public or national holidays as well as on several festivals. They are also closed on the second, fourth Saturday, and all Sundays of each month. However, the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has issued a calendar in which it has mention that the banking operations will remain closed for up to 12 days in May 2021.

The bank holidays are listed by the State Government, Central Government, and Union Territories under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), banks in most of the states will remain closed on May 14 (Eid-UI-Fitra). Apart from it, some banks will observe holidays on Labour Day, Jumat-ul-Vida, Id-Ul-Fitr and Buddha Pournima, check out the below-given list.

Here is the list of the bank holidays in May 2021:

May 1stSaturdayMaharashtra Din/May Day (Labour Day)Maharashtra/Several
May 2ndSunday Nationwide
May 7thFridayJumat-ul-VidaJammu & Kashmir
May 8thSaturdaySecond SaturdayNationwide
May 9thSunday Nationwide
May 13thThursdayRamzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr)Some states
May 13thFridayRamzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr)Widespread
May 16thSunday Nationwide
May 22ndSaturdayFourth SaturdayNationwide
May 23rdSundayNationwide
May 26thWednesdayBuddha PournimaWidespread
May 30thSundayNationwide

Disclaimer: All precautions have been taken to gather the most accurate information about the Bank Holiday dates for the month of May 2021. However, readers are advised to verify with their local branches to corroborate the same.