The Rupee is the currency of India

Indian Bank Holidays for July 2020


July is a quiet month with no major holidays affecting multiple states.

However it is still useful to know when the banks are closed, so you can plan any necessary transactions in advance and withdraw cash early to avoid empty ATMs.

This month there is the usual weekend holidays of all Sundays and every other Saturday, and a collection of holidays celebrated at a state level. In total, banking services are affected in some manner on 13 out of the 31 days in July 2020.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) website —– banks in some cities will remain closed this month to observe some regional holidays like Behdienkhlam, Bhanu Jayanti, Ker Puja, U Tirot Sing Day, Drukpa Tshechi and Bakrid. Banks in Agartala will remain closed on July 14th, Gangtok on July 13th and 24th, Jammu on July 31st, Kochi on July 31st, Shillong on July 8th and 14th, Srinagar on July 31st and Thiruvananthapuram on July 31st.

All these will fall under ‘Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act’.

And a heads up, August will start with almost every state observing Bakrid on Saturday 1st.

Here is the list of the bank holidays in July:

July 1stWednesdayDoctors’ DayWest Bengal
July 5thSundayNationwide
July 6thMondayMHIP DayMizoram
July 8thWednesdayBehdienkhlamMeghalaya
July 11thSaturdaySecond SaturdayNationwide
July 12thSunday Nationwide
July 14thTuesdayKer PujaTripura
July 17thFridayU Tirot Sing DayMeghalaya
July 19thSunday Nationwide
July 20thMondayBonalu
Karkidaka Vavu
July 25thSaturdayFourth SaturdayNationwide
July 26th SundayNationwide
July 31stFridayBakrid
Martyrdom of Shaheed Udham Singh
Jammu & Kashmir, Kerala

Disclaimer: All precautions have been taken to gather the most accurate information about the Bank Holiday dates for the month of July 2020. However, readers are advised to verify with their local branches to corroborate the same.