Spanish flag

Spanish Public Holiday list for 2022


The 2022 work calendar in Spain is now complete and it includes a total of 12 national holidays, one more than in 2021. Eight holidays will be celebrated nationwide, the same number as this 2021, according to a resolution of the General Directorate of Labor published this Thursday in the Official State Gazette (BOE).

Specifically, the eight days that will be a holiday throughout Spain in 2022 are: Saturday January 1 (New Year), Thursday January 6 (Epiphany of the Lord), Friday April 15 (Good Friday), Monday 15 August (Assumption), Wednesday October 12 (National Holiday of Spain), Tuesday November 1 (All Saints), Tuesday December 6 (Spanish Constitution Day) and Thursday December 8 (Immaculate Conception).

Each autonomous community can have up to 14 holidays – 12 at a community level, with municipalities able to pick two extra days.

For the national holidays that can be substituted by the individual communities, Thursday April 14 (Holy Thursday) will be a holiday in all of Spain except in Catalonia. May 2 (Monday following the Labor Festival) will be a holiday in Andalusia, Aragon, Asturias, Castilla y León, Extremadura and Murcia; Monday July 25 (St. James’ Day) will be a holiday in Madrid, Navarra, La Rioja and Galicia (which also celebrates its National Day that Monday), and on December 26 (Monday following the Nativity of the Lord) it will be a work-free day in all regions except Catalonia, Galicia, the Basque Country, the Valencian Community and in the autonomous city of Ceuta.