Pakistan announces Public Holidays for 2020

2020 Asia

Pakistan’s Ministry of Interior has issued the list of holidays for 2020. There will be 10 national holidays.

The holidays are Kashmir Day (February 5th), Pakistan Day (March 23rd), Labour Day (May 1st), Eid Al Fitr (May 25th, 26th and 27th), Eid Al Azha (July 31st, August 1st and 2nd), Independence Day (August 14), Ashoora (9th and 10th Muharram), Eid Milad-un-Nabi (October 30th), Quaid-e-Azim Day/Christmas (December 25th) and the Day after Christmas (December 26th – for Christians only).

Three Bank Holiday were also announced. They are January 1st (New Year day) and April 24th (first Ramadan) and July 1st. On these banks/DFIs/MFBs will be closed to the public, but the employees must still attend work.

For Muslim festivals, the dates are subject to the moon sighting. If the dates shown for 2020 change, there will be a separate notification which will be issued by Ministry of Interior.

Public and Optional Holidays in Pakistan for 2020