Sri Lankan Public Holidays for 2020 Announced


The Sri Lankan Government have announced the dates of the Public and Bank Holidays for 2020.

The Public and Bank Holidays for Sri Lanka in 2020 were announced in an Extraordinary Gazette notification on June 7th 2019.

Internal, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Vajira Abeywardana issued the Gazette notification

Of the 26 listed holidays, six fall on a Saturday or Sunday. May is the month with the most public holidays with May day, Vesak and Eid al-Fitr all falling on weekdays. July and November are months with no weekday holidays as the Poya days fall on weekends and Diwali falls on a Saturday in November.

The list of Public and Bank Holidays for 2020 are shown below.

FridayDuruthu Full Moon Poya
WednesdayTamil Thai Pongal DayTamil Nadu
TuesdayNational Day
SaturdayNavam Full Moon Poya
FridayMahasivarathri Day
MondayMadin Full Moon Poya
TuesdayBak Full Moon Poya
FridayGood FridayFriday before Easter Sunday
SundaySinhala and Tamil New Year Eve
MondaySinhala and Tamil New Year
FridayLabour DayInternational Workers’ Day
ThursdayVesak Full Moon PoyaBirth of Buddha
FridayVesak Full Moon Poya Holiday
MondayId-Ul-FitrRamazan Festival Day
FridayPoson Full Moon Poya
SaturdayEsala Full Moon Poya
SaturdayIdul AdhaHajjhi Festival Day
MondayNikini Full Moon Poya
TuesdayBinara Full Moon Poya
ThursdayVap Full Moon Poya
FridayMilad-Un-NabiBirthday of Prophet Muhammad
FridayVap Full Moon Poya
SaturdayDeepavali Festival DayDewali
SundayIll Full Moon Poya
FridayChristmas Day
TuesdayUnduvap Full Moon Poya