Govt announces 14 public holidays for year 2019


The Pakistan Federal government have released the list of public holidays for 2019

According to a notification issued by Pakistan Interior Ministry, there will be 14 public holidays in 2019, including Kashmir Day, Pakistan Day, Labour Day, Eidul Fitr, Eidul Azha, Independence Day, Ashura, Eid Miladun Nabi (PBUH) and Quaid-e-Azam Day.

“In case of Muslim festivals, the dates of holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of moon for which a separate notification will be issued by the Ministry of Interior,” the notification read.

The notification also highlights that there will be three bank holidays. Banks will be closed for public on 1 January, 6 May and 1 July 2019. Note that bank employees are still required to attend work.The federal government also listed 23 optional holidays for government officials, including New Year’s Day, Basant, Shiv Ratri, Holi, Dulhandi, Shab-e-Mairaj, Good Friday, Easter and Nauroz. “Government officials desiring to avail optional holidays shall take prior permission of the head of office concerned and no government servant, who is Muslim, shall be granted more than one optional holiday. Non-Muslims can be granted three optional holidays in Calendar Year 2018-19,” the notification added.

National holidays in Pakistan in 2019

TuesdayJan 01Bank HolidayBanks are closed
TuesdayFeb 05Kashmir Solidarity Day
MondayFeb 18Public HolidayIslamabad
ThursdayMar 21HoliSindh only
SaturdayMar 23Pakistan Day
WednesdayApr 03Shab e-MerajSindh only
ThursdayApr 04Public HolidaySindh
WednesdayMay 01Labour DayInternational Workers’ Day
MondayMay 06Bank HolidayBanks are closed
TuesdayJun 04Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
WednesdayJun 05Eid ul-FitrEnd of Ramadan
ThursdayJun 06Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
FridayJun 07Eid ul-Fitr Holiday
MondayJul 01Bank HolidayBanks are closed
MondayAug 12Eid ul-AzhaFeast of the Sacrifice
TuesdayAug 13Eid ul-Azha Day 2
WednesdayAug 14Independence DayNational Day
WednesdayAug 14Eid ul-Azha Day 3
MondaySep 09Ashoora9th day of Muharram
TuesdaySep 10Ashoora10th day of Muharram
SundayOct 13Urs of Shah Abdul Latif BhitaiSindh only. 14th Safar
SundayNov 10Eid Milad-un-NabiDate to be confirmed
WednesdayDec 25Quaid-e-Azam Day
WednesdayDec 25Christmas DayObserved by Christians only
ThursdayDec 26Day after ChristmasObserved by Christians only