Indian Money

Indian Bank Holidays in May 2023

2023 India

Indian public and private banks will be closed on 10 days including the second and fourth Saturdays and Sundays in May 2023, owing to festivals.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) guidelines, banks remain closed on all public holidays but there are some holidays that are regional, i.e. restricted to certain states only. Regional holidays are decided by respective state governments.

1 MayMondayMaharashtra Day/ May Day (Belapur, Bengaluru, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur, Panaji, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram) 
5 MayFridayBuddha Purnima (Aizawl, Belapur, Kanpur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla) 
7 MaySundayNationwide
13 MaySaturdaySecond Saturday
14 MaySundayNationwide
16 MayTuesdayStateHood Day (Gangtok) 
21 MaySundayNationwide
22 MayMondayMaharana Pratap Jayanti (Shimla) 
27 MaySaturdayFourth Saturday
28 MaySundayNationwide

Disclaimer: All precautions have been taken to gather the most accurate information about the Bank Holiday dates for the month of May 2023. However, readers are advised to verify with their local branches to corroborate the same.