The Philippines announces Public Holidays for 2022

2022 Asia

The President of the Philippines, Rodrigo Duterte, has released the holidays for 2022.

Today Duterte signed Proclamation 1236 declaring 10 regular holidays, six special non-working days, and three special working days.

The regular holidays include New Year’s Day, January 1 (Saturday); Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9 (Saturday); Maundy Thursday, April 14; Good Friday, April 15; Labor Day, May 1 (Sunday); Independence Day, June 12 (Sunday); National Heroes Day, August 20 (Monday); Bonifacio Day, November 30 (Wednesday); Christmas Day, December 25 (Sunday); and Rizal Day, December 30 (Friday).

The special non-working days are Chinese New Year, February 1 (Tuesday); EDSA People Power Revolution anniversary, February 25 (Friday); Black Saturday, April 16; Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 (Sunday); All Saints’ Day, November 1 (Tuesday); and Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary, December 8 (Thursday).

The three special working holidays are All Souls’ Day, November 2 (Wednesday), Christmas Eve, December 24 (Saturday), and New Year’s EveDecember 31 (Saturday).

The dates for Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha have not been announced, but we have shown the most likely dates for your planning convenience.

The President said the new proclamation will boost economic productivity in the country amid the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) pandemic.

“For the country to recover from the adverse economic impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special (working) days instead,” Duterte said in his proclamation.

Year Planner for the Philippines in 2022