Georgia Declares May 4-11 as Nationwide Public Holidays

Coronavirus Europe

According to the press service of the Government of Georgia, on April 9th 2021, the Interagency Coordination Council has taken the decision to declare May 4th – 11th 2021 as nationwide public holidays.

The decision is intended to address the increased movement of people following Orthodox Easter which is celebrated on May 2nd 2021. As the mobility of people increases across the country throughout this period, it may increase the risks related to COVID infection.

In addition to announcing the May public holidays, Interagency Coordination Council recommended employers transfer their employees to remote work schedule.

It should be also noted that according to the decision of the Council and based on the assessment of the current epidemiological situation, the current restriction on movement from 21:00 to 05:00 will remain in force across the country.